The Postman Always Rings… until someone let’s the poor bugger in.


OK that’s it, the love affair is over. It’s been a month now and the cracks are beginning to show. Me and Edinburgh have managed to finally get out of the bedroom and those little annoying habits are starting to show up. It’s all Edinburgh’s fault. I liked it so much I was gonna marry it. Then I found out about the garbage and the post situation.

What’s up Edinburgh? You don’t have a selection of bins in the apartment blocks for trash? You’ve got skips at the end of roads instead? So I have to walk my garbage alllll the way to the corner? Pfffffft. Seriously?

Well… maybe this would be acceptable if each corner had each type of bin for this big green world we now live in. But no. Half a block from me is the normal bin type bin, a whole 2 blocks is a paper/plastic bins and what might as well be the depths of outer Mongolia – 3 blocks!! – is the distance I need to schlep in order to dispose of glass products.

Am I just a complete lazy bum? Or am I right in thinking this is a complete pain in the bum? Whatever’s going on, there’s a bum involved somewhere.

The only person I see who benefits from this are the garbage collectors. Yes, maybe it’s uber efficient for them, but it’s bloody annoying for me. Now each morning I’ve got to think about which way I’m walking and gather up the correct garbage for whatever bin I might be passing along the way. Uggh.

Or… maybe people here just do special bin trips a few times a week?? Can’t say I’ve seen many people marching along the streets laden with garbage though. Or… maybe I’m just being a dickhead and Scots don’t really pay much attention to where they’re putting what? Yeah, it’s probably that second one. I’m a dickhead.

And then there’s the post…

My apartment block doesn’t have a communal post box area. The post person has to go to each individual flat, walking up all the stairs – the poor love – and post the mail through the doors. But they don’t have access to any building on their route, they have to ring all the door bells and hope someone is home to buzz them in. So I asked mine what happens if nobody lets you in, and he said he just tries again the next day.

What the what???

Well, despite getting my titties in a twist, I still like ya Edinburgh. Just don’t expect me to come over to your place every night anymore. I think we need to see other people… you know… so we don’t end up feeling smothered. So I’m going to southern Italy in a week, where, incidentally, sometimes the Mafia garbage men don’t even collect the rubbish for weeks – and it ends up looking like this.

naples rubbish.2

So I guess I really should be grateful I live in a city where the rubbish even gets collected at all. Alright fine, I’ll give you that one. Whatever. But I’m still Not. Happy. Jan.

Leave a Reply

