A Pussy Pickle


I’ve already put one blog on here about a cat. I’m sorry, I’m going to have to do it again. But I promise it won’t become a habit. Not that there’s anything wrong with blogs about cats mind you, but this blog is supposed to be about my bum, not my pussy.

Ahem.

So I oopsadentally bought a kitten this weeekend. Speaking from a place of denial extreme animal empathy, it’s because I thought it would be a good way to help Professor Scaredy Cat, that she’d have someone to play with and maybe calm the rubber duck down. Speaking from a place of selfishness, it’s more likely because I couldn’t handle being randomly hissed at for no apparent reason by Scaredy.

I can’t handle the hate anymore. I want an animal to love me. I want some furry animal love dammit!

And who could blame me when you look at this face…

Somewhat in hindsight, we spent the weekend frantically looking up how to introduce grown cats to kittens, and have been slowly introducing them to each other. Knowing Scaredy Cat as little as I do, I knew it wouldn’t be as simple as they all seemed to say, in fact her hissing has progressed to something like the sound an industrial steam pipe with a leak any time the little one gets in sniffing vicinity. Not that I’ve ever been anywhere near an industrial steam pipe with a leak, but I’ve watched all four “Alien” movies several times alright?

According to the experts on the interweb, Scaredy needs to feel like her place in the social order of the house has not changed, and as long as the kitten cowers or doesn’t act aggressively then Scaredy should be safe in the knowledge she is still King Cat and life will go on as tenuously as before.

Yeah well little one held up her end of the bargain and did as she’s supposed to. She either acts disinterested or walks away. Today she even got  a bit scared, did the backward step retreat Salsa and walked away again, but this time at a decidedly faster pace. If that’s not being submissive I don’t know what is. Scaredy on the other hand is still making like the water pipe.

What to do??? Sigh.

On another note, we still don’t have a name. Quite ironically given her fear of almost everything in the world, Scaredy’s name is Maffia, which is the Hungarian spelling of Mafia. So I was thinking of naming little one after some kind of crime gang, because I delude myself that I’m wacky and unique like that. A friend came up with Bonnie, as in Bonnie and Clyde, but I think Clyde is much cooler, plus I like the idea of not enforcing gender stereotypes on the kittenski. I want her to be a well adjusted individual when she plays with all the other kittens in… err…kitten pre-school? Oh whatever, shut up, Clyde’s just cool.

So take a look, and please, feel free to throw me any suggestions, both in what to do about Scaredy and a name for the little one.

4 thoughts on “A Pussy Pickle

  1. There’s no way you could look at that face & not bring her home. How about Vito from the Godfather…? Or Floyd (Pretty Boy Floyd, who was a criminal gangster around same time as Bonnie & Clyde and John Dillinger)? Or if you want a girls name, how about Matilda or Tilly after Matilda “Tilly” Devine?

Leave a Reply

